State Council

Related Links

» About BTA

» BTA Bylaws

» Peer Assistance (PAR)

» Election Rules

» President's Corner

» State Council News

» Legal Rights Info

» California Commission
of Teacher Credentialing

» California Ed Code



For the Record

"Whenever the people are well informed, they can be trusted with their own government; that whenever things get so far wrong as to attract their notice, they may be relied on to set them to rights."
- Thomas Jefferson

CTA's Mission

"The California Teachers Association exists to protect and promote the well-being of its members; to improve the conditions of teaching and learning; to advance the cause of free, universal, and quality public education; to ensure that the human dignity and civil rights of all children and youth are protected; and to secure a more just, equitable, and democratic society."

» Read more

CTA's History

The California Teachers Association was founded in 1863 by John Swett, the state's fourth superintendent of public instruction. His call for a "teachers' institute" led to the California Educational Society, which became the California Teachers Association in 1875.

» Read more

Meet Your CTA Leadership

Executive Officers

CTA’s President, Vice-President and Secretary-Treasurer represent the three executive officers of the organization. Elected by CTA’s 745-member State Council of Education, the officers and Executive Director Carolyn Doggett report to CTA’s Board of Directors. President David A. Sanchez presides at all meetings of the Board and serves as the official representative of the association. Vice President Dean E. Vogel performs all duties assigned to him by the president, and, in the absence of the president, performs the president’s duties. Secretary-Treasurer Gail Mendes performs the duties of both secretary and treasurer to the organization, maintaining the minutes of the governance bodies and overseeing the preparation of the budget. Executive Director Carolyn Doggett oversees the supervision of the CTA’s 500 staff throughout the state.

Click the links below to learn about each officer.

» President Dean E. Vogel

» Vice President Eric C. Heins

» Secretary-Treasurer Mikki Cichocki

» Board of Directors

» Executive Director Carolyn Doggett

What is the CTA?

CTA is California's largest professional employee organization, representing more than 340,000 public school teachers, counselors, psychologists, librarians, other non-supervisory certificated personnel, and Education Support Professionals (ESPs). It is affiliated with the 2.8 million-member National Education Association.

More than 1,100 chapters or local teachers associations are chartered as CTA affiliates. Two unique CTA chapters are "statewide" affiliates: The California Faculty Association is the bargaining agent for professors in the California State University system, and the Community College Association represents members in 42 bargaining chapters who work in 72 community college districts.

CTA's top policy-making body is the State Council of Education. The council's nearly 800 delegates meet four times a year in Los Angeles. These delegates are elected by their local membership and can serve up to three, three-year terms. A single delegate represents approximately six hundred members. Carleen Maselli, a math teacher at Benicia High School and member of the BTA Bargaining Team, currently represents the Benicia Teachers Association and Travis Teachers Association. Delegates create and establish language for the CTA policy handbook, which sets the direction for CTA’s political actions, and actions CTA leadership will follow in regards to its role as teacher advocate. They also elect the three state-level CTA officers and the CTA Board of Directors.

Archived State Council Reports

March 2009
January - 2007
October - 2007